‘Tis A Season

by cobaltandrising

Lately I’ve been thinking about seasons.  Not the fall, winter, spring, summer variety, but the  where-did-this-come-from, this-could-be-way-longer-than-I-ever-imagined, or it’s-blowing-my-mind-in-unexpected-ways type of season.

Even trying to name or describe these times seems so sugar-coated. How do you call a season that ripped your heart out and left it to beat itself dead on the sidewalk as “hard”?  How do you name a season that overflowed your heart in ways you are still to this day processing as “happy”?

My season right now is one of waiting, learning and wondering. The word looooonnnnngggggg also comes to mind! Most days my spirit’s eyes look hard to see God and the ground he’s covering in my life.  Some days, I’m so dad gone caught up in the minutia that I completely forget to take a step back and view the entirety of these last months.  The daily, close-up view exposes worry, discouragement, and a selfish mindset consumed with comfort.  The sweeping panoramic unveils the extreme faithfulness of God, the love extended by many who care, the longings mercifully fulfilled, and the joy experienced during even the worst Debbie-downer days.

Whatever season you’re travelling through right now, I hope you’ll join me in learning to appreciate the panoramic God is creating in our lives.  For while our seasons reveal much about our hearts…oh, my word, what they reveal about the God who loves us enough to walk through it with us.

“Endure hardship as discipline; God is treating you as his children… but God disciplines us for our good, in order that we may share in his holiness. No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.” 

(Hebrews 12:7, 11)

