The Pink Dress

by cobaltandrising

This is the elder sweet pea a few years ago, when dancing in the kitchen while wearing a tutu and cowgirl attire (along with a spaghetti-sauced face) was as natural and just plain fun as eating ice cream on a summer day.

Scroll a few costume changes and a handful of years forward, and there’s a different story.  On Sunday, it played out like this:  mommy holding a pink dress with rosebuds, a little girl’s sincere tear-filled refusal, and a final confession of  “I’m afraid someone will laugh at me if I wear this.”

More and more lately, I’ve noticed my daughter sometimes struggles in the confidence area.  She seems forever worried that she will be the target of a pint-sized critic, especially in terms of her wardrobe and hairstyle.  Kind of makes me feel like junior high has come before kindergarten… for…the…love!

Admittedly, my fashion sense is questionable (read: I wore platform tennis shoes in the late 1990’s and am far too matchy-matchy/style-challenged for my own good). However, I do have a pretty helpful grid for wardrobe choices. Do I like this outfit? Is it modest and appropriate for the setting?  Does it feel good to wear it?  If the answer is yes to all, then on it goes!  And guess what?  Even if I look like a cross between a Spice Girl and a Golden Girl, I roll with it.

Oscar Wilde once said, “Be yourself.  Everyone else is already taken.”  How I wish my gals would embrace this at a much earlier age than I did!   At night, just before they sleep, I whisper into each of my daughters’ ears, “You are special and unique.  God made you, and there is no one else like you.  He has a purpose and plan for you…”

So I’m wondering, what do you do to weave into the hearts of your children (or yourselves, for that matter) the truth of Psalm 139:13-14: “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well”?

