Bastrop Is Burning

by cobaltandrising

For the past several weeks, I’ve been mulling over the words “trash and treasure”.  In fact, I sat down to write about my love for finding treasure in unexpected places, but that post will have to come later.  For tonight the city of Bastrop is burning and I just can’t get over what so many have lost.

In the past two days, some 500 homes have burned to the ground here in Central Texas.  Hearts broken.  Lives gone.  All is changed.  As I watched the smoke from afar today and stepped outside to smell the smoke drifting in the air tonight, I couldn’t help but think “What would I take?”  If I had ten minutes, or five, or two to get out my door and into the car to escape a fire that simply would not die…what would I take?

A couple of posts back, I shared what it has meant to be in a year of waking.  Loss and gain locked in an intimate dance.  A job gone, a home sold, a temporary dwelling place, a life in storage…appreciation for what remains, a fuller understanding of simplicity, beautiful moments in a family.  Right now I have so much more than many others do in terms of the intangible; by comparison, I possess very little in terms of the tangible.  Loss and gain… trash and treasure.

Jesus says this:

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal.  But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also…  Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?” (Matthew 6)

I imagine that there are hundreds of torn-to-shreds people sitting in Bastrop tonight who would wretch upon hearing these words.  They are alive but have died a small death; their treasures are gone, and worry and grief are the breath moving in and out of them.

And yet, Jesus’ compassionately strong words linger: “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also…   Are you not much more valuable than they?”  Of anyone, Jesus should know a thing or two about the intricacies of loss and gain, of what has value and what does not, and of those things in life not worthy of our worry.

What would I take?  What would you take?  What is our treasure and where is our hearts?

