I Am Not A Homeschooler

by cobaltandrising

(The final confession for November!!!)

If you had asked me to define “homeschooler” ten years ago, I probably would have looked at you as though you were the bird who finally broke free of the looney bin.  Even five years ago if you had repeated the question, I might have said a little more along the lines of having very dear (and perfectly sane and normal) friends who were on the journey with their kids.

But friends, it is 2011, and in my time today I have covered math, handwriting, phonics, art, and, oh, yes, pledged my allegiance to the flag and had play time at the park.  Somehow it seems, I have joined the ranks of what, at one time in the not-so-distant past, I couldn’t even have defined.

In my mind, there’s absolutely no way I’m a homeschooler.  But in reality I am…and I’m loving every single minute of the homeschooling adventure.

Just for good measure, I’ll tell you I’m neither anti-public school nor uber-conservative.  I’m not claiming to have a holier, higher calling.  I am simply a mom who wanted to be with her 5-year-old rather than spending the better part of the day apart. A mom who craved time outside of a classroom for her child to discover the world, and who wanted to watch sisters at play creating art at the kitchen table.

Our family had a choice to make, and this is simply what we chose.

(By the way, just in case you missed it, I am not a homeschooler…but I am…and I’m loving it.)

I mean, seriously, this is ME we’re talking about.  The one who can’t plan ahead for squat, the one who barely survived math herself, the introvert who longs for alone time, and the one who would never, ever, in a million years voluntarily be an elementary school teacher.  God bless ’em every one, but I just ain’t got the skills,or patience, or any of what it takes to be in charge of teaching that many little people!

But if I’ve learned anything from being the homeschooler I don’t think I am, it’s that some risks are just worth taking. Last night, after a week-long Thanksgiving break from curriculum, she threw her arms around my neck to say goodnight.  She held tight and whisper yelled into my ear, “I’m so excited we get to homeschool tomorrow!”

Music to my not a homeschooler ears…

